Croatian Parliament ratifies Accession Treaty with EU

Croatia’s Parliament on Friday ratified the Accession Treaty between Croatia and the European Union. All 136 MPs voted in favour of the ratification.

The bill to ratify the document was sent by the government to parliament on 5 March, the same day when the Constitutional Court ruled that Croatia’s referendum on the country’s EU membership had been conducted in accordance with the Constitution.

The treaty was signed in Brussels on 9 December 2011, and so far, Slovakia, Hungary, Bulgaria, Italy and Malta have ratified it. After the ratification of the document in all 27 member-states of the EU, Croatia can join the Union on 1 July 2013.

The treaty is a result of the accession negotiations that lasted five years and eight months. The negotiations on 33 policy chapters were launched on 3 October 2005 and were brought to conclusion on 30 June 2011.